Hawthorns


For Marcel, hawthorns in flower are almost unbearably beautiful, sometimes forcing him to avert his gaze.

It was in the “Month of Mary” that I remember having first fallen in love with hawthorns. Not only were they in the church, where, holy ground as it was, we had all of us a right of entry, but arranged upon the altar itself, inseparable from the mysteries in whose celebration they participated, thrusting in among the tapers and the sacred vessels their serried branches, tied to one another horizontally in stiff, festal scheme of decoration still further embellished by the festoons of leaves, over which were scattered in profusion, as over a bridal train, little clusters of buds of a dazzling whiteness. Though I dared not look at it except through my fingers, I could sense that this formal scheme was composed of living things, and that it was Nature herself who, by trimming the shape of the foliage, and by adding the crowning ornament of those snowy buds, had made the decorations worthy of what was at once a public rejoicing and solemn mystery. (I,155-156) 

I don’t have a hawthorn in my garden, but I feel much the same way about my rhododendrons.  

Rhododendron

   

    

    

Tags:

Leave a Reply

